Undip History


The establishment of Diponegoro University was initiated starting in mid-1956 marked by the establishment of the Semarang University Foundation. The figures who initiated the establishment of Semarang University were Mr. Imam Bardjo, Mr. Soedarto, Mr. And Sulaiman, and Mr. Soesanto Kartoatmojo.

The University of Semarang was officially opened on January 9, 1957. Considering the very young age with education infrastructure that is still very limited, at that time the State Administration Academy was opened with the first Dean Mr. Goenawan Goetomo, Academy of Commerce with the first Dean Drs. Tjioe Sien Kiong, Engineering Academy who later became a Faculty with the first Dean Prof. Ir. Soemarman.

At the third anniversary of the University of Semarang on January 9, 1960, the President of the Republic of Indonesia, Ir. Soekarno changed the name of the University of Semarang to UNIVERSITAS DIPONEGORO, in recognition of his achievements in the field of higher education in Central Java. The university (private) Diponegoro was declared a State University, starting from October 15, 1960. This date was then determined as the anniversary of Diponegoro University.

At that time the established faculties were the Faculty of Law and Public Knowledge, the Faculty of Economics, the Faculty of Engineering, and the Teaching & Education Faculty.


Since it was inaugurated as a state university on October 15, 1960, Diponegoro University continues to develop itself by equipping faculties that are very much needed as printers of quality human resources.

In the period 1961-1970, Diponegoro University had successfully established four faculties namely the Faculty of Medicine (1961), the Faculty of Animal Husbandry (1964), the Faculty of Literature (1965), the Faculty of Social and Political Sciences (1965), and two institutions namely the Research Institute and Community Service Institute (1970). While continuing to establish faculties that have been established, Diponegoro University also pioneered the establishment of a variety of increasingly complete educational institutions. This is indicated by the establishment of various Specialist programs (Specialist Doctors, Notarial Specialists), Non-Technology Faculties, Diploma III Programs (Economics and Polytechnics), as well as Diploma IV programs (Medical Physics and Medical Installation and Nursing).

A proud achievement is the establishment of the Post Graduate Program (1994) which was followed by various Strata 2 and Strata 3 programs within the Diponegoro University.

This success is a picture of the development in quantity while in order to find out the quality of the implementation of education, the results of the assessment conducted by the National Accreditation Board of Higher Education (BAN-PT) can also be used as an illustration of its development. Diponegoro University was ranked 2nd in the assessment conducted by BAN-PT, with details of A: 54.84%, B: 35.48%, C: 3.22%. This shows that the development of Diponegoro University is not only in the physical aspects but also in the aspects of quality. No less than the Journal of Asia Week, April 3, 1999 edition, it has assessed various universities, Diponegoro University ranked 3rd best among 4 universities in Indonesia categorized by “The Best Universities in Asia 1999” after UGM and UI.

If the assessment is associated with the assessment of BAN-PT, it can be concluded that each other strengthens.

The achievements achieved by UNDIP cannot be separated from its participation in various government programs in this case the Ministry of Education and Culture, among others: Members of SKALU and SIPENMARU (1990), Members of the Six Universities Development and Rehabilitation Program (1985) which resulted in a new campus on land of 12212 ha ., and Member of the Marine Science Education Project (1987) which resulted in the Marine Science campus in Teluk Awur Jepara, as well as the role of the Semarang Regional Government in providing Tembalang land as a campus, greatly assisting the development of UNDIP.

The faculties at UNDIP today are:

1. Faculty of Economics and Business
2. Faculty of Law
3. Faculty of Cultural Sciences
4. Faculty of Social and Political Sciences
5. Faculty of Medicine
6. Faculty of Public Health
7. Faculty of Fisheries and Marine Sciences
8. Faculty of Animal Husbandry and Agriculture
9. Faculty of Science and Mathematics
10. Faculty of Engineering
11. Faculty of Psychology
12. Graduate School
13. Vocational School


The Diponegoro University Graduate Program was organized based on the Decree of the Minister of Education and Culture No. 67486 / A2.1.2 / C / 1994 dated November 7, 1994.

Long before the issuance of the Diponegoro University Graduate Program Implementation Permit above, in 1974 Diponegoro University had held doctoral education in the fields of Law and Medicine. In its implementation until 1990 this program had produced more than 20 doctors. In 1982 the University in collaboration with the University of Indonesia held a master’s program in the field of Law. This program in 1983 then stood alone at Diponegoro University as a Master of Law Program. Based on various considerations, among others: the development of the number of students, the development of facilities at the university and the increasing needs of the community in the number of quality human resources, then in 1994 Diponegoro University formed a graduate program that was directly responsible to the Chancellor. The postgraduate program is given the task of coordinating and managing postgraduate education activities at the university and is responsible for the development of academic quality

As one of the educational institutions under Diponegoro University, to respond to various challenges and market needs, the Post-Graduate Program is growing rapidly, until the end of 2012, it has grown to 41 Study Programs covering 32 Masters and 9 Doctoral Study Programs.

In the course of the Postgraduate Program, Diponegoro University experienced a very basic dynamics of change, namely by the issuance of the Decree of the Chancellor of Diponegoro University, the Chancellor of Diponegoro University No. 609 / SK / 2011 dated 11 November 2011 concerning Administrative and Academic Management Postgraduate programs that are monodisciplinary, in accordance with the provisions of the second dictum mention “Moving academic management and part of the administration of monodisciplinary study programs originally under the Postgraduate Program, under the management of the Faculty . Since January 1, 2013 the Postgraduate Program only manages 5 study programs which include 1 Doctoral Study Program and 4 Masters Programs, namely:

Master Program

1. Master of Epidemiology (Decree of Director General of Higher Education No.81 / DIKTI / Kep / 2001)
2. Masters in Environmental Sciences (Decree of the Director General of Higher Education No. 130 / Dikti / Kep / 2000)
3. Master of Information Systems (SK Director General of Higher Education (SK Dirjen Dikti 1508 / D / T / 2007)
4. Master (S2) Energy

Doctoral Program

1. Environmental Science Doctoral Program (S3), established in 2008 (Decree of the Director General of Higher Education No. 2782 / D / T / 2008 dated August 20, 2008)